Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from May, 2017

WCRY Ransomware Attack 2017 –Validate If Your System is Safe Today

Breaches in IT security are spreading like wildfire all over the world. There is a new culprit found on May 12, 2017, which is known as WCRY ransomware, affected approximately 230,000 computers worldwide. It is known as WannaCrypt too.









Be it any business vertical, this nasty Internet offender did not restrict itself anywhere, and was designed to blow the whole IT industry. This massive cyber-attack holds the potential to encrypt data of any system within minutes and displays a message on the user’s screen, asking to pay $300 in Bitcoins for data retrieval. It quickly got spread via phishing emails and targeted unpatched applications/operating systems in the form of computer worm. In other words, it majorly targeted those machines that were using older operating systems. National Health Service of the UK, national petroleum of China, and factories of Renault situated in France were some of its victims that were affected adversely.
That’s not all! It also impacted the patient tracking…

Massive Phishing Attack on Google Docs - Case Study

Rethink While Allowing Apps Accessing Your Google Account Now Did you know that Google Docs recently encountered a major phishing attack on Tuesday, 2nd, May, 2017? This attack got spread like a wildfire, and was designed to steal the precious information from your mailbox.












The strategy of this attack was slightly advanced than other phishing attacks. Here, users get emails with a link, namely ‘Open in Docs’.






This phishing attack was designed by exploiting a renowned standard, namely ‘OAuth’, which is used to provide third party services or apps to connect with your Google account. Usually, this functionality is being utilized by numerous authentic websites to help users quickly connect with them. But, if we discuss this phishing attack, the moment users click this link, they are redirected to Google.com. It is one of the reasons that they could not sense that it is extremely harmful for their precious data. Being a user, you are also asked to provide your permission to an app to conn…